WE WILL NEVER LOOK BACK

There is only one cure for the Post Ibiza Blues (PIB) and that, of course, is to return to Ibiza.

 If this is not immediately possible, withdrawal symptoms may be treated with music therapy. PIB sufferers may find comfort through songs that remind them of their Iberian adventure, though it should be noted that, in some cases, this can actually increase PIB.

I’ve been back in Britain for less than 24 hours and I’m experiencing extreme PIB. Ibiza is a raver’s pilgrimage but my trip, booked at extremely short notice, also symbolises my new-found freedom. Thank you to my fabulous new friends for inviting me. Thank you, Boy George, for giving me dance floor fever following a hot, sweaty night at Amnesia. And thank God for electronic dance music.

I tried Googling “Never look back” to find one of the songs stuck in my head. This led me to Avicii’s new single, Silhouettes. I was surprised to see the promo clip features a trans person, but I was even more surprised at how this is handled. Rather than mocking the trans character, the film affirms her experience and shows her as fulfilled (and loved) following surgery. When did you last see that in a music video?

Avicii is a mainstream, Grammy-nominated star, who counts Madonna and David Guetta among his friends. Last year he ranked No. 6 on the Top 100 DJs list by DJ Magazine. He plays to thousands, but he wants his fans to do more than just throw shapes. Change, he says. Be yourself. Be happy. Clubbers, like the rest of the population, come in every variety. Messages like this are what made me fall in love with dance music in the first place. It’s a top tune and a top, PIB-relieving video. Top man, Avicii.

 

Leave a Reply

